Skip to content
June 20, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Spicy Pea Pasta

This is a recipe I’ve seen done about a thousand times online. Every time I see it it looks so delicious, so I decided to try it. There was only one problem. As you might have guessed from the title of this post, this dish has peas in it. Kasjen “hates” peas. He told me to make it without them, and I told him to eat around them, or make dinner himself. This resulted in a new pea lover. While he insists that he doesn’t like peas still, he got really excited when he got to the bottom of him bowl and a bunch had sifted down there. Needless to say this got gobbled up fast, even the leftovers have moved quickly.

Ingredients (I don’t measure things a lot so these are all pretty rough estimates, I change amounts based on my love for the ingredient):

2 Chicken Breasts (boneless, skinless)

1/2 Jar Marinara (I used Newman’s Own Marinara)

3/4 Jar Alfredo Sauce (I used Bertollis regular alfredo, the one w/out mushrooms)

Olive Oil (Enough to coat the skillet)

Red Pepper Flakes (I use a lot because I love it, but depending on your level of spiciness desired, it could easily be changed. My first batch I used half a tablespoon, my second batch I easily doubled that)

3 Cloves Minced Garlic

Salt

Pepper

1 Cup Peas (I used frozen peas that I had thawed)

1 Lb Short Pasta (first time I used rigatoni, second time I used penne, they both turned out great)

((Most of this stuff I keep on hand anyways, which means this recipe is a no-brainer for me))

1)) Boil Pasta
2)) Lightly coat the bottom of your skillet with olive oil, on medium heat add in red pepper flakes and garlic. Let this merry for a bit (2-4ish minutes)
3)) Cut chicken into bite sized pieces (I just diced it). Add chicken to the skillet and cook until browning (mine took about 10 minutes, but it’ll depend on the size of your pieces)
4)) Add marinara, then let this merry for a couple minutes.
5)) Add alfredo sauce, then let this merry for a couple minutes. You’ll want to make sure that the alfredo doesn’t boil at all, and that the sauces are well mixed. At this point I added in the salt and pepper, just a bit because the alfredo’s already a little salty.
6)) Add in peas, and mix well.
7)) Drain your pasta well and add it to the skillet. Mix until all the pasta is coated.

and TADA!!!!

I like this recipe a lot. The peas take away from the heat and add a fresh element, they’re like golden bombs in this recipe. I’m so glad I never left them out because they really added a lot to it. If you have a non-pea eater, make it anyways this is a dish that could convert them.

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jo / Jun 25 2012 6:18 pm

    Jen…we tried this tonight and it was good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

