Skip to content
June 11, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

The search

As you all know, I recently graduated college with a bachelor’s degree in awesome. I graduated three weeks ago, and I’ve begun to assume “real life.” While applying for jobs online with feigned enthusiasm, the idea of the real world bounces around in the back of my head. Unlike my glorious college days of being suffocatingly (totally a real world) busy, now I have all the time I’ve ever wanted. Yet my dishes sit dirty in the sink and I’ve been wearing the same outfit for the past four days. My blindness to life after college was made apparent this last week. I’ve begun to assume that real life is terrifying and the point is either to make the most money or be the happiest, both of which seem too competitive for my nature. While I have been extraordinarily lucky to have many friends that work bizarre hours and are available for chill sessions at almost any time, my drive has been decreasing.

I have been working the same part time job for years. I could literally work blindfolded with one hand while reading 50 Shades of Grey and no one would question my accuracy. I love this job, I always have. While occasionally thankless and hostile, the people that surround me, make my position undeniably the best. I am extremely lucky to have such a wonderful part time job. However this job does not fulfill what I have been sent to earth to do: Publicly Relate.

My search will continue on. I will venture on to tirelessly apply for jobs until I find one. I will also continue to answer every person who asks me if I’ve found a job yet with, “not even a little bit.” For now my search continues.

 

Sidenote: I truly appreciate all the beautiful and wonderful people that have helped me. Your support means the world to me, and I understand how blessed I am. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

