Skip to content
June 2, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Book review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

I wanted to read this book before it came out, probably before it was even written. I’ve been reading Jenny Lawson’s blog http://thebloggess.com/ for years. She makes me laugh, she makes me cry, she’s fan-tas-tic. I knew her book would something I couldn’t put down.

If you’ve never read her blog before and just picked up her book you would still love it. She has an amazing story. Through problems with depression, anxiety, rheumatoid arthritis, and complications in pregnancies, she doesn’t hide anything. She let’s everyone know that although she has had these obstacles in her life, she’s still “furiously happy.” You fall in love with hilarious portrayals of her life as a blogger and mother in rural Texas. She explains that the book is a “mostly true memoir.” The stories, although strange seem real and heartfelt.

Kasjen glared at me extensively while I laughed out loud reading my Kindle. I’d just tell him he had to be there, because explaining to your boyfriend that you’re laughing because a blogger you’ve never met before had to rebury their pug after being stung by a scorpion, so the vultures wouldn’t eat it, doesn’t really make you sound sane. I’ve read her blog for so long, many of the stories are familiar, but each story has a little bit extra. Not all the stories in her book are from the blog, but when someone posts about taking a taxidermied miniture french alligator on an airplane, you remember it. It didn’t bother me that I had heard the story twice, because in the book she went into much more hilarious detail, and made it well worth my $12.99.

Her love for bizarrely taxidermied animals made me want to have a wine-slushy with her.

This book is fantastic, although it does have a few swears (so if you’re uberconservative you might want to watch out).

I would recommend this book to anyone who needs a laugh, which is everyone really.

You can purchase it here or for my nerdy Kindle friends here.

Leave a Reply

