Skip to content
February 7, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

French Onion S.S.

This soup Sunday was interrupted with the Superbowl, which was fine because we got plenty of other wonderful munchies. It got pushed back to today due to scheduling issues, but oh man was it worth it.

French onion soup has everything I love. It’s rich, it’s buttery: it just has that how do you say? je nes se qua.

My recipe was altered for my cheapness (I can’t afford gruyere cheese) but it turned out DELICIOUS.

My Ingredients included:

4 Medium Onions
1 Clove of Garlic
1 Stick of Butter
1 Carton Chicken Broth (approx. 4 cups)
1 Carton Beef Broth
1 Cup Chardonnay (I used a cheap cutler creek version)
1 Loaf French Bread

I began by cutting up my onions. I used 4 medium onions.

I cut them in medium slices: not too thick but not crazy thin. I used my lovely light-weight knife Kasjen’s mom got me for Christmas. It is by far the best knife I’ve ever had.

In my large soup pot I melted one stick (yes the whole stick). Then added my onions.

I cooked them over medium heat for about twenty minutes, stirring regularly.

After my onions were yellow and softened, I stuck them in my oven at 400 degrees for an hour. I know it sounds like forever, and with the smells that will be arousing your home, it is. I covered my pot with foil and stirred them periodically.

After a while they’ll start to look like this. It looks weird, but all the brownness is deliciousness. After a full hour of cooking in the stove I poured 1 cup of chardonnay in to de-glaze my pot and put it back on the stove for another 10 minutes to cook down the wine.

I know it looks like worms, but stick your head in the pot and breathe in. O.M.G. so good.

After the wine cooks down a bit I added one carton chicken broth and one carton beef broth.

 

I also added 3 cloves of garlic, then let it simmer for another half hour. I cut up some french bread and cooked it to croutons.

Then I put some cheese on it. Oh yeah, cheese. I used provolone but I don’t think there’s any bad kind of cheese, so use whatever you like.

Yep. It’s good. It’s rich and lovely. Hope you enjoy!

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Liz Blood / Feb 7 2012 10:11 pm

    I made Baked Potato Soup for SuperBowl Sunday, altered a recipe I found online, but it was AMAZING. You guys should try it out, I think I’m going to try your Chicken Tortilla next week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

