Skip to content
January 29, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Soup Sundays

Kasjen and I have been dating for almost two years. To be honest, neither of us knows the exact date: I guess we’re just not the remembering type.

We wanted to start making some traditions of our own this year. We stumbled onto the idea of soup Sundays while grocery shopping. Kasjen swore he hated soup, especially hearty soups. I, on the other hand, could eat soup everyday. Although he put up a good fight, I ended up getting everything for cheesy broccoli soup. Kasjen quickly changed his mind about soup, and declared every Sunday until we die: SOUP SUNDAY.

The next week I took on a harder soup, chicken tortilla. It turned out fantastic.

Today I will be making creamy wild rice soup. Each week we alternate who chooses the soup. ((Chicken tortilla was my choice))

I love soup Sundays because it gives me at least one night a week where I know we can just hang out and enjoy a meal together. It can be as easy or as difficult as I choose. Soup can be a really cheap meal or as lavish I want. I can try a million different soups and never have to use the same soup twice. The options are endless.

This is a tradition I hope we can keep up with, because all week we’ve been talking about how excited we are for soup Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

