Skip to content
January 17, 2012 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

J-Term

AHHHH! January is not my month. As you may have guess I’ve been crazy busy. Currently I’m taking a J-Term. To anyone who goes to a normal university you have no idea what I’m talking about. I don’t go to a normal university. From January 4th until the end of the month I take one class for three hours, four days a week. My J-Term this year is politics and film.

I love film. I think it’s great to study and are usually my more memorable classes. While I am a very serious student, I don’t think it’s bad to take a few classes that fit in your schedule that you can truly enjoy.

During my film class this semester every film fits in a separate genre of political films. If anyone is looking for a different movie to watch tonight, here is my list of political films you could enjoy. Some are older, some are newer but all of them hold significance, and are very interesting to watch during our current political climate.

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington                 

Advise and Consent

The Candidate

Hearts and Minds

The Fog of War

Inside Job

Being There

Bob Roberts

Wag the Dog

The Front

Good Night and Good Luck

All the President’s Men

So far my favorite by far is the candidate. I’ll give you one guess why….

 

MEEEEOOOOWWWWW. It was released in 1972 and I would have never watched it on my own, but it was really great.

I’ll keep posted with the rest of my happenings.

Happy watching.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Andrew Madsen / Jan 17 2012 4:57 pm

    Pretty awesome list, there. I’ve only sadly seen Bob Roberts (great), Wag the Dog (average), and All The President’s Men (great). One that’s not on the list that I would recommend is The War Room from 1992, although it might be tough to find a copy of that. Great movie that covers Bill Clinton’s election campaign for president, and focuses largely on James Carville and the rest of the team that got him elected president.

Leave a Reply

