Skip to content
December 10, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

The little things.

Life’s extremely stressful, especially during the holidays. A long time ago someone (I think a teacher) showed me a list of small things you can do to make yourself a little happier. So today I’m going to share with you life’s little things to make every day just a smidgen better. These have all served me well and I hope they can make your days brighter also. I formulated my own 40 ways to make yourself feel awesome, and here they are…

(((I am by no means a psychiatrist if you are feeling more then a little blue I fully advocate professional help, these are not cure-alls just tips)))

1. Make your bed. When you make your bed it helps your room look cleaner, making you feel more put together. It can also make you feel  better at the end of the day, when you can pull back the covers.

2. Smile at five people you walk past that you don’t know. Normally when I pass people I either nod or look down awkwardly, but smiling at people more can lead to them smiling more. It’s a serious chain affect. Plus smiling releases endorphins, so you should be smiling anyways.

3. Take the lollipop from the grocery store, bank, etc. When offered free candy say yes. ((Not in any weird ways or by anyone in a van)) But a small burst of sugar can be your reward for being awesome. Go you.

4. Get off your cell phone. People on their cellphones are usually distracted and text conversations are rarely that rewarding. If you get off your tech devices you may be able to actually live your life. Breath in, and shut it off.

5. Park further away. This will give you a little more exercise and gives you extra time to think about your plans, what you need to buy etc. Plus BONUS it can give you more people to smile at.

6. Talk to your cashiers. Most people just say the same things every time they go through the checkout line. Strike up a conversation. It will truly make their day better, and yours.

7. Pet your dog. While this makes your dog feel awesome, it can also bond you two together more. Having a best friend at home can make any day better.

8. If it is sunny, open your window. Fresh air can make you feel like your on the tip of the Titanic and your king of the world. It’s okay to yell that out your window.

9. Create a mantra and use it. When your putting on your makeup tell yourself your the prettiest girl in the entire world, or that today you will be more awesome then the word awesome can describe. Butter yourself up. You don’t need other people to tell you that you’re great, because you already know it.

10. Become friends or kind of friends with a neighbor. We live in a huge apartment complex, and I’m currently looking for a neighbor friend. Make small talk, pet their adorable dog. A friend that lives close can come in handy in a million different ways, plus BONUS new friend.

11. When your walking to school:work:the gym: etc. make your own theme song. It sounds stupid, but makes you feel awesome.

12. When your super bogged down in work take a mini-break. Take two to five minutes to readjust yourself, tell yourself you’ve got this under control and that you will dominate, then walk around a little. It’ll truly make your work better.

13. Quit yelling when you don’t have to. Someone cut you off in traffic and your mad as hell, I get that, but yelling and getting all worked up over it is only going to make you feel bad. Calm down, being mad over something that little is only bad for yourself. Fight wars not battles.

14. Hug someone. Don’t be weird and try to hug your boss or someone else’s baby, but giving someone an actual hug can make both of you feel happier and more comforted.

15. Stay away from negative people. I personally, have defriended every single person on my facebook who posts drama. It’s stupid and you’re better then that.

16. Go to bed early. Getting more sleep ((within reason)) has been proven to fight all sorts of sickness and help you be more productive. So get off-line and go to bed.

17. Arrive early. Show up ten minutes early. Being late will only stress you out, and most the time you can avoid this. Wake up a little earlier and give yourself time. Plus BONUS it shows your trustworthy and reliable.

18. If something bad happens to you, think about the good in it. For example, yesterday I got locked out of my apartment and had to wait 30 minutes for a maintenance man to drive here and charge me $75 dollars to unlock my door. BUT I was locked out with Kasjen, and we were able to talk and joke, my best friend showed up at a perfect time so I had a phone to use, I got ahold of the maintenance man after hours and I was able to wait in my friends car so I wasn’t out in the cold. In everything bad, there’s still some awesome. Think half full.

19. Make yourself breakfast. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and being hungry at work:school:or whatever your doing, sucks.

20. Wear something you’re not totally sure about and ROCK it. Maybe it’s a new shirt you think might be a little too flashy, or a hairstyle you just don’t know about. Do it, and make it yours. If it’s awesome or not, if you exude confidence people will tell you it’s great and BONUS trying something new can make an average day a kick ass day.

21. Be nice. People are nice to you when you are nice to them. The attitude you put out will be the same as you get back. Being nicer helps everyone.

22. Find value in what you do. This can be hard, a stupid project or a work assignment you never wanted to do. However, figure out why it’s important. Putting value behind your work makes it meaningful.

23. Make a list, and check it off. Making lists gets you organized, checking off items makes you feel accomplished, it’s a win-win.

24. When you get in your car after a super long day CRANK the radio. Put on something you love and blast it. Sing along. It’ll release pent up stress and help you not take it home with you.

25. Drink more water. It can help relieve headaches and keep you hydrated.

26. Let it go. An argument that happened three days ago, is over with. Don’t dwell on the past, learn from it and move on.

27. Value what you have. We live in a society that always wants more. You’ve had a hard day at work, you got yelled at, your feet hurt, and you have a sink full of dishes at home. But you have a job, and millions of people don’t have that. You can’t have everything, but the most awesome people don’t need anything.

28. Try something new. Monotony is easy. Same meal, same drink, same outfit, same routine, IT”S BORING. Do something different. You might not like it, but at least you tried something new, and now you know.

29. Make something and be proud of it. From crafting to cooking a yummy meal, making something and being proud of it can make you feel like you just built the Eiffel tower of awesome.

30. Write a letter, oldschool. Write a letter to someone. You’re grandma, you’re best friend, even your parents. Put a stamp on it, send it old school. Everyone gets emails and texts but getting a handwritten letter is like getting gold via USPS.

31. Find your hero. I was getting interviewed for a class the other day, and someone asked me,”who’s your hero?” It took me about ten minutes to come up with a real answer. Find someone you idolize, figure out why, and emulate their success.

32. Look up cats on the internet. This is weird, but true. Laughing can make you feel better and if Maru (OMGILOVEMARUU!!) can make you happier, do it up.

33. Tell someone you love them. It doesn’t have to be your crush for 25 years or anything. Maybe it’s your sister, or your dad, or your pet hamster. Tell someone you love them, I bet they’ll say it back, ((besides your hamster or other animals, they don’t talk.))

34. Have some you time. I’ve had a problem with this for years. I always leave school to study leave studying to work and get home at 10:30 and crash. I don’t have me time. So as a substitute when I’m driving inbetween I make it awesome. Fountain pop in one hand, my favorite song on my radio blaring, singing along as loud as I can, telling myself I dominated that homework. Even if you don’t have a lot of time, use the time you have in between to comfort yourself.

Are you still reading this? Reallly!!!???!!!? Omg you’re the best. High five yourself right now.

35. Wear comfortable shoes. When your feet hurt, you’re kind of super mean.

36. Declutter. It’s a lot harder to focus when there is stuff everywhere. Get rid of the stuff you don’t need by donating it.

37. Spend some time outside. Go for a walk, smell the roses ((which are already dead because it’s December in Iowa)), get some sun time. Exercise: good for you + Sun: Vitamin D ((maybe skin cancer?)). Either way going outside can brighten a mood.

38. Quit talking bad about people. It’s so easy to say negative things about people, and they come out so easily. What about the nice things? I can see that girl is fat, but did you notice her pretty: hair, skin, nails, outfit, shoes, attitude, smile, etc. Saying bad things about people doesn’t make anyone feel good.

39. Call instead of texting. I know your busy but a phone call is a million times more rewarding then a text message. Hello, real conversation.

40. Don’t reply with angry messages. A snide email isn’t going to fix the problem. Ask them why they felt that way and carry on.

That’s it, my whole arsenal of awesomeness. Hope you use my tips and have a bea-u-tiful day.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. meagan / Dec 10 2011 2:41 pm

    I seriously love this. You are completely adorable, Jen!

  2. Pam Sherwood / Dec 10 2011 11:45 pm

    You are a very wise girl. I enjoy your posts. And I am truly old enough to be your mother.

  3. fivehundredeightysixsqft / Dec 11 2011 10:27 pm

    Thanks Pam. I try to write for everyone. It’s nice to see that people care.

  4. Jill / Dec 16 2011 1:59 pm

    I love this — it made my day. There are plenty of ways to be positive and make things a little better for everyone — because of you I’ve added a few things to my own list. Thanks! Sending you a hug (see #14)!

  5. fivehundredeightysixsqft / Dec 16 2011 2:47 pm

    Thanks, Jill glad I could help your happiness list!

Leave a Reply

