Skip to content
December 8, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Egg in a hole

This recipe is super simple. I started making them in home ec class when I was in the seventh grade. It’s that easy. For me it’s just like home.

The egg meets the toast in texture madness. It’s super comforting. Oh, and an amazingly cheap classic.

It’s just an egg, butter (or margarine), bread, salt n peppa, and I use smoked paprika.

First make a hole in the bread (I usually use a small cup). Then butter both sides and lay in a pan on medium/medium high heat. After the bottom starts to toast crack an egg in the middle.

Let the egg cook, I like mine runny, Kasjen likes his completely done. After you can tell the egg is cooked on the bottom, you flip.

Then I salt and pepper them, cook the other side and pop them on the plate. I sprinkle the top with paprika, feed one of my middles to Mika, and eat the other one with peanut butter.

So good, so awesome, so much like home.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. essentialingredient / Dec 8 2011 5:48 pm

    i used to do that all the time too. 🙂
    i’ve also done it with pepper slices!

  2. meagan / Dec 9 2011 9:56 am

    Shane makes these ALL THE TIME, and I had never heard of them before I moved in with him. He calls them Eggies In A Basket and makes them exactly the same way. They are awesome! 🙂

  3. fivehundredeightysixsqft / Dec 10 2011 10:40 am

    Eggies in a basket…. I like it.

Leave a Reply

