Skip to content
November 29, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Broke @$$ Wine Review

…or should I say Broke Ass wine review? Lately a lot of my reds have been disappointing: resulting in a purple mouth or a hangover. This red was a relief.

I have to admit, I bought this for the bottle. It was witty and I appreciate any wine that describes itself as: No Frills Great Value Wine. I picked this bottle up at my local Hyvee for $4.99, and could not have been more excited to pop off that top. It was skillfully uncorked by my better half (notice the no shave November).

The wine itself was exactly as described, no frills. It was a basic red table wine. A little sweet, but still a little bitter. This was a late night wine for us, and we enjoyed it after dinner. However it would be great with anything savory, even a casserole. This wine didn’t stain my teeth, and wasn’t overly alcoholic. It had a strong flat base flavor, with a tinge of a dry after taste. Overall, I would definitely buy this again. It’s the perfect red to put on the table during a family dinner. I would give this wine a 9 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

