Skip to content
November 20, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Unique gift giving

As you may or may not know, I work in retail. It’s November 19th and Christmas is creeping into my everyday life. I enjoy Christmas despite the shopping and retail madness it has become. I’m already being asked what Kasjen and I want for Christmas. To be honest I have everything I need, and a lot of things I don’t.

People my age are usually hard to buy for. 22 year-olds are usually all over the place. People that are truly hard to buy for take a little bit more time and effort: but they don’t have to.

So here’s a list of some websites to get a few unique gifts for those who have everything. These are great for young couples, or just awesome people in general….

House 8810 has vintage inspired homegoods, and some funny little accessories.

Fred Flare has comical items, household goods, and nice trinkets for the younger crowd.

Uncommon goods has ‘green’ and recycled items. There stuff is very unique and lovely. I got Kasjen some whiskey stones from this site last year, and he loves them.

West Elm has beautiful household goods. I would accept any gift from this site.

Etsy is a great place to find the truely unique, homemade items that are beautiful. They have such a variety of goods, you could find something for every personality.

Perpetual kid has really fun small gifts for the ‘young at heart.’ They have really fun little trinkets that would be great for a secret santa.

 

If you would like to avoid shipping, or need something a little quicker, I would recommend doing something creative. Make a homemade gift, Pintrest has a million crafty gift ideas.

The past few years I’ve made fun little packages. A dvd, candy and microwave popcorn, make a cute night in gift. Packaging a bunch of small things with a theme, make a really nice inexpensive gift.

So here are a few ideas, I’ll post my Christmas wishlist soon for a few more indepth ideas. Happy gifting.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. essentialingredient / Nov 20 2011 5:39 pm

    i love all of those shopping sites. 🙂 i’ve never heard of house 8810 or west elm so im going to go check them out now.
    thinkgeek.com has some pretty comical gifts too.

  2. fivehundredeightysixsqft / Nov 21 2011 12:20 pm

    I absolutely love west elm. They have gorgeous house stuff.

Leave a Reply

