Skip to content
November 19, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Cheap @$$ Wine Review 8 and a dip!

So I must admit, I bought this entirely based on the bottle. I guess looks can be deceiving.

This bottle was $5 at Hyvee. It’s Fish Eye Merlot. I was really looking forward to cracking open that pretty bottle. The color was fine and the aroma good. The wine itself was a little dry for my tastes, but I really didn’t mind that. It was overwhelmingly alcoholic. It was a 13.5% wine, but it seemed much higher. Really two glasses, is plenty for anyone. Even Kasjen at 6’3″ and over 200lbs, got blushed with 2 glasses, so please drink responsibly.

Even after all this, I could still stomach it. My main problem with the wine was that it made my mouth, teeth, tongue and lips purple. This took forever to go away. I brushed my teeth twice and they were still tinted. This is a rarity for me and I have no idea how this happened. I would never order this at a restaurant or bring it to a date. It will make you look like you went crazy on some purple kool-aid, 4 year-old style.

Overall, I would not buy this again: not even for the pretty bottle. This wine gets 3 out of 10 stars.

The same night I got purple-mouthed, I made a wonderful dip. I had spotted the recipe online, and noticed I usually have all of the ingredients in my kitchen.

This recipe is really adaptable, I even changed it to make mine.

  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 cup salsa (I used some gifted salsa from Jo Kramer)
  • 3/4 can whole kernel corn (drained)
  • 1/2 pack of taco seasoning
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar)
  • 2 TSP taco sauce (I used mild)
  • Green onions

Add together beans, corn, salsa, seasoning, taco sauce & half the cheese. Mix.  Microwave for around two minutes. Add the rest of the cheese and mix it in. Spread green onions on top. (Also good with a dollop of sour cream)

It was super filling and tasty. It would be great for a crowd or a game day. You could make it more spicy by adding peppers too.

Leave a Reply

