Skip to content
November 9, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Walkin a mile in my shoes…

6:00 Alarm clock on my phone vibrates. I hit ignore and sleep for another half hour.

6:30 Alarm clock goes off again. I finally wake up, take a shower, do my makeup, find clothes, and drink a pot of coffee with Kasjen while we watch the news.

7:45 Drive to class.

8:00 This Tuesday it happened to be a day where I had speech class. I absolutely love this teacher. She used to smoke a pack of cigarettes a day, did one acupuncture class and never smoked again. She’s an extremely interesting person,she has a Lithuanian husband and loves fly fishing. Sit through speech class, then go to religion class. As much as I love my first teacher is about how much I dislike my religion class. I sit through what seems like the longest hour and a half of my life. We read the Bhagavad Gita like a script aloud in class with a microphone. Just awful.

10:50 Class is done, I walk to my car. Past Mount Mercy’s grotto, which is by far my favorite place on campus.  It’s the kind of place you wanna be buried at.

Taken from Historical Campus Architecture Project

Between 11:00 and 11:45 I go crazy. I do the dishes, check email, straighten my hair, and cook and eat an entire meal. It’s a really quick 45 minutes.

12:00 I go to my internship. I intern at Hiawatha Parks and Recreation.  I do everything from thank yous, to help with the community brochures to spreadsheets. It’s fun and the people are nice, and the two hours usually feels like ten minutes.

2:30 Arrive at home.Write a post about glitter nails. Shortly after I get a call from my dad. He comes and kidnaps me and takes me to a mexican restaurant. This is the highlight of my day. He also takes me to buy shampoo and go tanning. We have a weird/awesome relationhip.

5:00 Get dropped off at home. Feed Kasjen fajita leftovers and write a prep plan for a speech on concealed carry weapons and local businesses. Before doing my homework I ended up on pintrest for awhile. That site will be the death of me. http://pinterest.com/586sqft/

6:45 Drive back to campus, pick up a camera in the newspaper office and find my seat in the hall to cover a story for the Mount Mercy Times. Enjoy a talk from my favorite teacher (feel free to give me extra credit at any point for this) about the Iowa caucuses.

8:15 Come back home, watch Tosh.0 and bunker down with Kasjen. Usually at this point I get a lot of adorable Mika time also.

Exhausted, I usually go to bed around 10. What can I say? This girl likes her sleep.

So yeah, that’s pretty much what my days are like. They usually all involve some form of interning + newpapering + homeworking + usually working customer service, although this was a “day off” + Kasjen and Mika.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. essentialingredient / Nov 9 2011 8:35 am

    glad i am not the only one to have a weird/awesome relationship with their dad. 🙂
    nothing wrong with going to bed at 10. sleep is ah-may-zingggg

  2. meagan / Nov 12 2011 8:48 pm

    it’s nice to be able to stalk you from a distance now! haha. love youuuu.

Leave a Reply

