Skip to content
November 3, 2011 / fivehundredeightysixsqft

Cheap @$$ Wine Review 5

My oh my, finally some red wine. When I think wine my mind instantly goes to a red. I don’t know what it is, maybe the deep color, slight thickness and earthy aroma. A glass of a deep burgundy makes me all giddy inside, like when I drank juice out of my parents wine glasses, fancy giddy. This bottle was no different.

For $2.77 a bottle, I could afford some fancy in my life. It was carefully uncorked by my better half and partner in crime.

We enjoyed it after dinner while watching Sideways. I’m currently working on a book/movie comparison of the two, and there’s not a better film to watch while enjoying wine. In fact, don’t ever try to watch that movie without wine, it will make you jealous.

The wine itself was a deep Shiraz. I wouldn’t dare to call it complex but it’s also $2.77 a bottle. It has a distinct oaky aftertaste you might expect from a wine called Oak Leaf. It isn’t overly alcoholed and smells very earthy. The aftertaste fades after a few drinks, so I wouldn’t worry about it too much. It seemed like a great fall wine because of its earthy accents. I enjoyed two glasses and slept like a baby on cough medicine (weird reference). I didn’t eat anything with it but it would pair nicely with a roast or a stew, something savory and slow roasted.

I would definitely buy Oak Leaf again, in fact I want to try some of their different varietals. It made for a fantastic night.

P.S. I just want to thank everyone who’s reading this. You are all individually awesome. I’ve gotten over 1,000 hits before my first month blogging and I appreciate you all.

Leave a Reply

